Five Days to a Fabulous First Page is the newest offering from The Manuscript Academy.  It’s a whole new concept in writing strategy, where we will send you a short lesson a day via video and text. You’ll do the lesson, then jump on a private Facebook page to join a massive critique group to break down your work.  Fun, right? Then join us for our live First Page Expert Panel.

How It Works

May 15-19, 2017, you'll receive a short video class, about five to ten minutes each--with written notes--every day in your inbox. You'll watch them, discuss the lessons on our private forum, partner to critique your pages--and get your pages ready. We'll be there to help you every step of the way. 

After you go through our five-day process, we’ll send you a checklist and you can give your first page a final polish before sending that page back to us for our live Manuscript Academy First Page Expert Panel. (Please note: pages will be picked at random, and we'll get through as many as possible in an hour and a half.The panel will air LIVE, Wednesday, May 24, 8pm EDT--but you can watch the live recording at any time after. 

All this for the very low price of $25!

Stretch out those typing fingers, get the pad of paper ready. We hope to see you there!

 

Our Faculty Panelists

AmandasqAmanda Shih is an Assistant Editor at TarcherPerigee, where she publishes nonfiction ranging from illustrated and gift books to practical lifestyle and self-help titles. Prior to TarcherPerigee, she worked briefly with Folio Literary Agency, Dutton Books, and Grove Atlantic, among others. Find her on Twitter at @amandashih, where she sometimes remembers to tweet about publishing.

 

 

 

 

Flum pic (1)Caitie Flum joined Liza Dawson Associatesin July 2014 as assistant and audio rights manager, as well as taking on her own clients. She graduated from Hofstra University in 2009 with a BA in English with a concentration in publishing studies. She interned at Hachette Book Group and Writers House. She was an Editorial Assistant then Coordinator for Bookspan, where she worked on several clubs including the Book-of-the-Month Club, The Good Cook, and the Children’s Book-of-the-Month Club. Caitie is looking for commercial and upmarket fiction with great characters and superb writing, especially historical fiction, mysteries/thrillers of all kinds, romance, and book club fiction. She is open to science fiction and fantasy that crosses over to a young adult market. She is also looking for Middle Grade and Young Adult projects, particularly romance, historical fiction, mysteries and thrillers, science fiction and fantasy, and contemporary books with diverse characters. In nonfiction, she is looking for memoirs that make people look at the world differently, narrative nonfiction, especially history that’s impossible to put down, books on pop culture, theater, current events, women’s issues, and humor.
 
 
 Norma Perez-Hernandez photoNorma Perez-Hernandez is an acquiring editorial assistant at Kensington Publishing Corp. She has worked on a variety of projects, including fiction, romance, mysteries, thrillers, and non-fiction. A New York City native, Norma studied English literature at the Macaulay Honors College at The City College of New York and is a graduate of the Publishing Certificate Program at City College. She is thrilled to build a list with diverse authors and books.
 
 
 
 
MeSamantha Wekstein is a Junior Agent at Writers House.  She graduated from the University of Maryland in 2012 with a B.A. in English with a concentration in creative writing.  She interned at Rowman & Littlefield and Sarah Jane Freymann Literary Agency before landing at Writers House in 2013 with an internship. There, she was the assistant to CEO, Amy Berkower and then to founder, Al Zuckerman. She also briefly worked as an assistant at The Agency Group. She has been lucky enough to work with a variety of best-selling and award-winning authors across all genres. She is now in the process of actively building her client list. Samantha’s passion is YA fiction. She loves creative and epic fantasies in the vein of Sarah J. Maas or Leigh Bardugo. But she is also drawn to contemporary YA with multi-dimensional female characters like those of Rainbow Rowell, Julie Murphy and Melina Marchetta. She also loves middle grade of any kind, but especially books that deal with themes of friendship, adventure, or encountering tragedy for the first time. Her favorites are Sharon Creech and Gail Carson Levine. In adult fiction, she is looking for historical, romance, women’s fiction, fantasy, and sci-fi. She doesn’t have a huge interest in nonfiction, but is open to humor, and pop culture.